top of page
Search

Get Yourself a Friend Who Makes You Feel Fierce

If anybody knows me, then they know I absolutely hate having my picture taken or seeing myself on camera (Ironic since I’m a Digital Cinema major). At the beginning of iLab we were asked to set three specific goals we want to accomplish by the end of the semester. One of my goals is to step outside my comfort zone and try things that are new and different.

Daniela Nickmann is also in the iLab with me and I found out she is studying photography. I thought this would be a good opportunity to step outside of my comfort zone, and wanted to take the opportunity to work on my goal. I asked Daniela if she could take some professional portraits/headshots of me for my website and she kindly agreed to help me out. I was incredibly nervous and anxious about having my picture taken, but Daniela was really patient and helped me feel more comfortable in my own skin.


At the beginning I was really nervous and felt incredibly awkward sitting in front of the camera. As Daniela continued to adjust the lighting and talked with me I started to feel more comfortable. It was fun getting to know more about Daniela and see her doing something she was talented in, and passionate about. Towards the end of the shoot I felt so much better about myself. I really enjoyed hanging out with Daniela, and I really appreciated her taking the time to help me out.


That’s something I have loved about the iLab. There is so much potential to use your talents and skills in order to help/understand those around you. The iLab created an opportunity to better myself and grow. I really feel like my self confidence has grown so much because I am pushing myself to change in little ways every single day while I’m here in Austria.


All I can say is: Get yourself a friend who makes you feel fierce.




Photos: Daniela Nickmann


Thanks again Daniela! You are an amazing person and incredibly talented!


Daniela’s instagram account: https://instagram.com/danielanickmann?igshid=1gp0086hp0u2q

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page