top of page
Search

It’s beginning to look a lot like christmas

It’s finally my favorite time of the year! I’m already listening to christmas music and binge watching classic holiday movies like A Christmas Story, The Grinch, and Christmas vacation. Stores are already decorated for the holidays and there is a chill in the air that seems to scream ”CHRISTMAS IS COMING!”.


On Sunday I visited the christkindl markt in Vienna. A christkindl markt is a christmas market! They are super popular here, and they are around many towns/villages until christmas day. The one I visited was in front of City hall in Rathaus. It was amazing to see all of the trees covered in lights, and the excitement of christmas time was apparent as me and my friend hannah wandered around.

Photo: Melissa Baird

Several booths at the christkindl markt sold a warm drink. I got Apfel-birnen punsch (Apple pear punch). It kept me warm as I walked around to look at everything that was being sold at each booth.


Photo: Melissa Baird

Here are some pictures of some of the things that were being sold:




Not only were there booths selling a large variety of christmas goodies and decorations, but the surrounding area was lit up and decorated in an impressive display.



Photo: Melissa Baird


Photo: Melissa Baird

Photo: Melissa Baird

Photo: Melissa Baird

AND. There was even a ferris Wheel!



Photo: Melissa Baird

Photo: Melissa Baird

Photo: Melissa Baird

Needless to say, I am STOKED for christmas! I’m planning on going to as many christkindl markts as I possibly can! I also found some little treasures I’m going to take back home with me to the states as gifts. :)



Photo: Melissa Baird

I am a religious person and this time of year is so special to me because it reminds me of my savior. I am so grateful for my life. For what I have, and the people who are in my life that make each and every day worth while. Being far away from my family during this time of year has been challenging, but it’s also reminded me of all of the many things I’m blessed with. I’m healthy. I’m getting a higher education. I’m surrounded by incredible people who can teach me so many new things. I’M IN AUSTRIA. :)


I hope you all have an amazing holiday season! If you haven’t started to get into the christmas spirit....DO IT. ;)


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page